PA Fireworks FAQ
Q: Which fireworks are Pennsylvania residents now allowed to purchase and use?
Consumers can now purchase and use “Class C” or “consumer-grade” fireworks that include firecrackers, Roman candles, bottle rockets, and similar fireworks that contain a maximum of 50 milligrams of explosive material.
“Display fireworks,” which are classified as including salutes that contain more than two grains or 130 milligrams of explosive materials, and professional-grade aerial shells containing more than 60 grams of pyrotechnic compositions, are still only to be used by professionals with a permit from the municipality where the display will take place.
Q: Who can purchase fireworks?
Anyone 18 years of age or older can purchase them.
Q: What are the restrictions on where they can be used?
They cannot be ignited or discharged on a public or private property without express permission of the property owner.
They cannot be discharged from or within a motor vehicle or building.
They cannot be discharged toward a motor vehicle or building.
They cannot be discharged within 150 feet of an occupied structure, whether or not a person is actually present.
They cannot be discharged while the person is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or another drug.
Shaler Local Ordinance Chapter 127 – Fireworks
§ 127-8 - Stopping fireworks for violations or public safety.
- In the event of any violation of this chapter or of the terms, conditions or limitations noted on a permit for the display of fireworks, or in the event of any unsafe condition occurring before or during the course of a fireworks display, or in the event of any unsafe condition occurring as a result of any use of consumer, display or other fireworks within the Township, the Pennsylvania State Police, Shaler Township Police, the Township Fire Marshal or the appropriate Township designee, or any other authorized Township representative, may, before or during the unsafe and/or violating occurrence, order such fireworks use or display to be stopped in the interest of public safety.
- Any person, firm, corporation or group of individuals found in violation of this chapter shall, upon conviction before any Magisterial District Judge, be sentenced to pay a fine of $1,000 per day for each and every offense as well as costs of prosecution and, in default of payment thereof, to imprisonment for a term not to exceed 90 days. Each incident in violation of this chapter shall be considered a separate offense and may be punishable as such.
Shaler Local Ordinance Chapter 158 – Noise
§ 158-2 - Unreasonable noise prohibited.
A. Unless exempted under the provisions of this chapter, no person shall make, continue, cause to be made or continued, directly or indirectly, any unreasonably loud, harsh, prolonged or excessive noise which either annoys, disturbs, injures or endangers the health, comfort, repose, safety or welfare of others within the Township of Shaler unless the making and continuing of the noise is necessary for the protection or preservation of property or the life, health or safety of a person or persons.
B. The following specific acts are declared to be loud, disturbing and unnecessary noises in violation of this chapter, but said enumeration shall not be deemed to be exclusive:
Radio and television sets, machines, etc. The use of radio or television receiving sets, musical instruments, or other machines or devices for the producing or reproducing of sound in such manner as to disturb the peace, quiet and comfort of the neighboring inhabitants or at any time with volume louder than is necessary for convenient hearing for the person or persons who are in the room or vehicle in which such machine or device is operated and who are voluntary listeners thereto. Operation of any such set, instrument, machine or device between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. in such a manner as to be plainly audible at a distance of 50 feet from the dwelling unit, nonresidential structure or vehicle in which it is located shall be evidence of a violation of this section.
§ 158-6 - Violations and penalties.
Any person, persons, firm, partnership or corporation violating any of the provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof before any Magisterial District Judge, be sentenced to pay a fine of not more $1,000, plus costs of prosecution, and may be sentenced to a period of incarceration not exceeding 90 days, or both. Each and every day that the offense continues shall be considered as a separate offense and shall be subject to separate and distinct penalties.